EFAS Symposium


EFAS Advanced Symposium

07-08 DECEMBER 2023
European Foot & Ankle Society

Invited Lecture: EMILIO TUÑÓN ÁLVAREZ | Friday 08 December - 08:10 - 08:30


Emilio Tuñón is full professor and coordinator of the Master in Architecture. He has taught as Jean Labatut professor at the Princeton School of Architecture (2008-2010), Eliot Noyes professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design (2006), visiting professor at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (2005) and the Frankfurt Städelschule (1997-1998).

In 1993 Emilio Tuñón founded, with Luis Moreno and Luis Rojo, the CIRCO research cooperative, which was awarded with the 2007 FAD Prize and the III BIAU Prize (2002). CIRCO was part of the exhibition « The Other Architect » (2015-2016), of the Canadian Center for Architecture in Montréal.

In 1992 he founded, with Luis M. Mansilla (1959-2012), Mansilla + Tuñón Arquitectos and in 2012 Tuñón y Albornoz Arquitectos.

Emilio Tuñón is committed to confronting theoretical and academic practice with the activity of design and construction. His most representative works are: the Helga de Alvear Museum of Contemporary Art 2021, the Stone House in Cáceres 2019, the Gastropabellón in Zurich 2017, the Royal Collections Museum in Madrid 2016, the Relaix Chateaux Atrio in Cáceres 2012, the MUSAC in León 2007, the « El Águila » Documentary Centre in Madrid 2003, the Auditorium in León 2003, the Museum of Castellón 2000 and the Museum of Zamora 1996.

Emilio Tuñón’s work has been recognised, among other awards, with the following prizes: National Architecture Prize, CSCAE New Bauhaus Architecture Prize, Gold Medal for Merit in Fine Arts, Mies van der Rohe Prize, European Union Architecture Prize, RIBA International Fellowship, Spanish Architecture Prize, Spanish International Architecture Prize, Eduardo Torroja Architecture and Engineering Award, Spanish Architecture and Urbanism Biennial Award, Ibero-American Architecture and Urbanism Biennial Award, Madrid Community Culture Award, Extremadura Community Award, COAM Luis Mansilla Award, Amo Award and AAP Award.